Richard N. Cooper

In Memoriam: Richard N. Cooper 1934-2020

December 23, 2020
The Economics Department has been saddened to learn of the passing of Professor Richard N. Cooper, Maurits C. Boas Professor of International Economics on December 23rd.  He was a member of the Trilateral Commission, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Executive Panel of the US Chief of Naval Operations, and the Brookings Panel on Economic Activity.  He served on several occasions in the US Government, as chairman of the National Intelligence Council (1995-97), Under-Secretary of State for Economic Affairs (1977-81), Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for International Monetary Affairs (1965-66), and senior staff economist at the Council of Economic Advisers (1961-63).  He was also chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston (1990-92), and Vice-Chairman of the Global Development Network (2001-2007).... Read more about In Memoriam: Richard N. Cooper 1934-2020

Professor Claudia Goldin Receives the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics

October 20, 2020

Professor Claudia Goldin, Henry Lee Professor of Economics, has been awarded the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics.  The Nemmers Prize is awarded for "achievement and work of lasting significance in the field of economics. In particular, the prize recognizes major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis."  Professor Goldin received the award for her "groundbreaking insights into the history of the American economy, the evolution of gender roles and the interplay of technology, human capital and labor markets....

Read more about Professor Claudia Goldin Receives the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics
Stefanie Stantcheva

Professor Stefanie Stantcheva Receives the Elaine Bennet Prize

October 20, 2020
Professor Stefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Economics, has been awarded by the American Economic Associations' Elaine Bennett Prize.  The prize is awarded annually by the AEA's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession.  Professor Stantcheva has been honored based on her "remarkable contributions to our understanding of optimal taxation, the relationship between innovation and taxation, and social preferences about redistribution. "
Isaiah Andrews

Professor Isaiah Andrews Awarded a MacArthur Fellowship

October 7, 2020
Professor Isaiah Andrews is among the 2020 fellows selected for this year's MacArthur recipients.  Professor Andrews was honored for his work in "developing robust methods of statistical inference to address key challenges in economics and social science."